Neurotherapy – Day 7 – IT’S ALIVE!!!

frankensteinOk – that experimental thing was awesome. Loved it. Talk about motivation…just totally fired up and not in a can’t sit still sort of way; more a “I can start or do anything” sort of way.

When three quarters of your problem is a sense of exhaustion at the thought of beginning things, that’s a big deal.

The first of the two sessions, we did the experimental 40 hz training on both sides of the forehead (I note that Sue only did this on my last day as she knew she would be seeing me over the next few days at the course and would be able to discuss with me whether it was throwing me off). Then we mellowed out its potential jumpy or destabilizing effects with a little more temporal lobe training (same electrode placement we use for the migraines). The feeling I got from it was completely clear and motivated – absolutely great. But still not perfect…

Went and sat in Starbucks reading a text for a bit. Lots of motivation to read but missing some concentration factor that allows me to focus on the words. I discussed this with Sue when I went back for session two so we decided to focus on more calming and the focus control placement that was working before. Together the combination is really good (so far – it can take a little while for things to shake out). Motivation + focus and control = Stuff gets done – at least for me. YaaaaaY!

Which brings me to another topic… Despite repeated protestations that it won’t, people keep asking about whether this will change me. I now believe I may have been full of shit. Having a taste of real motivation, I now have a clearer idea of the many ways I do things that are wrapped up in looking like I’m doing things when I’m really not. Those things may change. And depending on what you thought of me before, you may now be seeing something different. Hopefully it won’t be worse. Hopefully because I like this better and am unlikely to change it back, thank you.

Things that are unlikely to change (I think):

  • I’ll still be a nice guy. (just a nice guy that gets more done)
  • I’ll still have this crazy head that jumps from topic to topic and makes all kinds of wonky connections from left right and centre field. (I’ll just be able to stop it where I want and focus on one topic when I need to)
  • I’ll still be unpredictable (but I might be on time)
  • I’ll still be sensitive to others’ emotions (but I might be less vulnerable to the crap around me)
  • I’ll still be your friend (probably – you might want to bring me cookies or beer just to be on the safe side)
  • I’ll still look the same (but I might smile more) [ed. note – The bolts are hardly visible but don’t comment; he gets testy.]

Experiments

The therapies they are using at EEG have been tested any number of times on lots of people. You are perfectly safe.

That said, I love (did I say love? I meant LOVE) that neurotherapy is a reasonably new field, with lots of room for growth.

One of my favourite parts about this, that I realize not everyone would be comfortable with nor do they have to try anything even slightly new, is the opportunity to do real research into the nature and function of the brain WITH MY OWN HEAD. With no significant danger of screwing it up. Fun!

Granted there’s some work to be done. I’m going to throw down a good chunk of cash on the therapy, clinical training and a machine to work with. I need to learn way more than I know now. And I’ll need a professional designation (like psychologist or nurse) before I can do significant work on anyone else.

In the mean time, it’s a bit like being at a banquet in a foreign country. Takes a lot of work to get there, but once you are at the table… wow. Everythings new and different, you can try anything and if you don’t like it…discretely spit it out, have some wine and go back to that other stuff, which was delicious. The sense of possibility is breathtaking.

Another question from the floor – Should I do this?

[legaldisclaimer:Timisnotapsychologistnordoeshepretend
tobeoneexceptinthemirrorlateatnight.Hehasnowayof
knowingwhatmaybeyourspecificchallengesordesiresin
seekingtreatmentbutfeelsthatneurothrapyissuchabroadbased
systemthatalmostanyonecanbenefitfromitevenjustinorderto
becomethebestthemtheycanbe,so…)

Yes. Results may vary. I have one brain and you have another. Yours may resist the process more or less than mine does. You may like the process more or less than I do (actually can’t see the “more” – I loved it). It’s an emerging field. Some things they just don’t understand yet. [ed. and Pharmacuetical companies have no real idea what lots of drugs do to women or children because they never checked. At least this process is undestructive and open about newness]. Your specific concern may not respond as well as mine or may not respond at all (some things, like schizophrenia and sociopathy are challenging to treat).

However, if you have the money or know someone who will help, this is amazing stuff. It’s powerful, easy (god so easy), with no significant side effects and it is permanent (mostly – only the effects of things like dementia can be improved – the root cause isn’t being cured). If you have anything on this list I posted a couple of days ago… it’s sooo worth it.

As I also said, we’re all a bit broken. Lots of people (stock brokers, business executives, etc) use neurotherapy as a tool for improved performance. It boosts their concentration and abilities same as it does mine, they just started out a bit better. What’s telling is…they have just as many problems or broken areas as people who are functioning at a lower level. It’s just that their OCD or anxiety or whatever is working to make them effective in their field so no one notices (an OCD broker who has to check stock prices every 5 minutes may be a better judge of when to sell for instance). Sue at the clinic mentions that when people come in for peak performance, often lots of other things pop up. When those are fixed, they don’t leave unable to do their jobs all of a sudden. Unless maybe they are a hitman who came in for faster reflexes and all of a sudden acquires empathy. I can see that being a problem. Mostly they just become fuller, happier, better-rounded and complete humans.

So yes you should try it. Or you should keep reading my blog over the next month or so as I continue to track changes. Whichever one, if you decide to do it:

  • Go here (I am partial to their particular method – I think the system itself puts client first both in the way the electronics are designed and in the way they fundamentally approach the clinical process) and look up a clinician that uses the Othmer system.
  • Have a consultation and decide if the person doing the therapy is your sort of person. This is remarkably important as trust is the fastest way for you to figure out together what the best treatment is. If you don’t trust them enough to tell them what’s wrong they will be less likely to be able to help you.
  • Ask them if they have done neurotherapy themselves. Not all have. It’s important. If they haven’t, you might want to check if someone else has.
  • Have fun. It is.
Leave a Reply

